Home / Events / DadaSaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards 2018 to be held on 29th April Akshay Kumar, Rakesh Roshan, Sonam Kapoor, Bhumi Pednekar, Shree Narayan Singh, Manisha Koirala, R. Balki among the list of winners

DadaSaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards 2018 to be held on 29th April Akshay Kumar, Rakesh Roshan, Sonam Kapoor, Bhumi Pednekar, Shree Narayan Singh, Manisha Koirala, R. Balki among the list of winners

The DadaSaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards 2018 is scheduled to be held on 29th-April-2018 at Chitrakoot ground, Andheri-west, Mumbai. Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation award is one of the most prestigious awards in Indian cinema and is the highest official recognition for film personalities in the country.

This year, the winners are Akshay Kumar for Best actor in a leading role for Padman and Toilet Ek Prem Katha, Sonam Kapoor for Best actress in a leading role for Padman, R Balki best Director for Padman. The list of other winners include – Team Toilet Ek Prem Katha- Bhumi Pednekar, Shree Narayan Singh, Virendra Arora. The other list includes Armaan Malik, Neeti Mohan, Amit Sadh, Sanjay Mishra, Aditya Narayan Jha, Konkana Sen, Maniesh Paul, Kainaat Arora, Bhumi Trivedi, Aruna Bhatia, Shital Bhatia, Twinkle Khanna, Piyu Chohan, Siddharth Kannan, Arshi Khan, Sandip Marwah, Luv Ranjan, Nusrat Bharuch, Ishita Raj Sharma, Amjad Bagadwa and Farida Jalal. Apart from the mainstream awards, 22 Technical Awards will be presented to the technicians. Certificate of appreciation will be awarded to Eco Fashion Designer Nidhi Bhardwaj and Swati Mehrotra for Best Footwear Designer.


R. Balakrishnan, popularly known as R. Balki will be awarded the Best Director Jury Award for Padman. Mr Balki speaking on the same said, “I am very happy with the love and adoration that Team Padman has received. Anything in the name of Dadasaheb is an honour. Thank You Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation for this honour.”


Sonam Kapoor will be awarded the Best Actress Award in a leading role for Padman. Speaking on the same, Sonam Kapoor expressed her gratitude,”This is great news and I am really happy and honoured to receive the Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Award. I’m unfortunately travelling and would love for Balki Sir to collect the award on my behalf. Thank You for the love and admiration once again.”


Konkana Sen Sharma will be awarded the Best Debut Director Award. She said “I’m humbled, grateful n honoured to receive the debut director award and feels happy that this small film gets recognition amongst so many other big films”.


Amit Sadh, will be awarded the Best Actor (Web series) for Breathe, “I am highly honoured and delighted to receive the ‘DadaSaheb Phalke Film Foundation Award for Breathe. It is very special for me as Breathe is my most beloved project. Honours like these give me immense encouragement to continue beleiving in my craft and reinstates my belief in what we do and why we do it for. I am thrilled and excited to work harder and keep entertaining my audiences”.


Manisha Koirala will be awarded the Most Versatile Actress in Indian cinema, she said “I feel honoured and humbled!! Specially as it’s for being versatile as that’s what I have been trying hard to achieve!! We actors personalities should never over shadow the characters we play.. I.e This I learned while watching legendary actor Balraj Sahni Ji’s films!!


On winning the award for Toilet Ek Prem Katha, Shree Narayan Singh said,”I feel so honoured for receiving the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award for Toilet Ek Prem Katha… I want to take this opportunity to thank firstly the audiences for accepting the film… Akshay sir jinke bina ye safar aisa safar sambhav nahi tha , Neeraj ji, Sheetal ji and Prerna Arora for standing by me through all the ups and downs… And my entire team – Siddharth-Garima jo itni achchi kahani lekar hamare paas aaye aur itna sundar likha unhone , Bhumi, all the technician for their love and support… Thank you so much again.”


The awards ceremony will see live performances by Kainaat Arora, Arshi Khan, Piyu Chouhan, Arvind Neel Waghela, Santok Singh and many more.
Dadasaheb Phalke –The father of Indian cinema who had brought revolution to the Indian film industry. The film fraternity owes its evolution and success to the great Dadasaheb Phalke. The main aim of these awards is to honor artist, technician for their contribution toward the industry. Dadasaheb Phalke film foundation awards is the only awards supported by Federation of western India Cine employees (FWIC) show is executed by Glocal Thinkers. These are the only awards which felicitate the technicians and is nominated and voted by 27 prominent film association across the country.

Check Also

’Jai Mummy Di’ star Sunny Singh experiences tremendous fan frenzy!

Sunny Singh’s upcoming film Jai Mummy Di has already garnered a lot of attention and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!